COMMONWEATH OF VIRGINIA



CONTRACTOR OF THE OWNER OWNE OWNER O

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES VIRGINIA HIGHWAY SAFETY OFFICE



COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

2011 Governor's Transportation Pafety Awards

The Governor's Transportation Safety Awards recognize individuals and organizations who have made contributions to transportation safety in Virginia. The awards recognize accomplishments in the public and private sector by individuals, state and local governments, federal agencies, the military, businesses and organizations that promote transportation safety. The awards are open to any person or organization who performs an outstanding transportation safety activity or program during the previous calendar year. This program is sponsored by the Virginia Board of Transportation Safety, comprised of citizens appointed by the Governor of Virginia.

Awards will be presented from nominations submitted in each category for individual and/or group accomplishments, major projects and outstanding programs.

Send all entries to the Governor's Transportation Safety Awards, c/o Audrey Odum, Room 617, Post Office Box 27412, Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001. Entries must be postmarked by February 25, 2011.

RULES

Eligibility: Any individual, organization, business or government agency is eligible. The nominee must have made an outstanding effort to change the attitudes and behaviors of motorists leading to the reduction of crashes, injuries and fatalities associated with transportation in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Time Frame: Activities and programs must have taken place during calendar year 2010. Entries must be postmarked no later than February 25, 2011. Mail entries to the Governor's Transportation Safety Awards, c/o Audrey Odum, Room 617, Post Office Box 27412, Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001.

Criteria for Selection: The awards selection will be made by the Virginia Board of Transportation Safety. Entries will be judged on impact on the community; use of volunteers and private sector resources; creativity; imagination; and uniqueness.

Notification: Winners will be notified in May 2011.

Presentation: Awards will be presented by the Virginia Board of Transportation Safety in June 2011.

NOMINATION INSTRUCTIONS

Complete the nomination form on the following page. Include with your nomination form the following information in no more than six pages:

- 1. A brief description of the program.
- 2. Background information on the program. Why did it occur and what made it unique? Include any relevant statistics on what problems existed and what you wanted to accomplish.
- 3. Outstanding elements and accomplishments in the program (e.g., number of persons trained).
- 4. Approximate number of people impacted by the activity or program (e.g., project provided 100 free rides during New Years; program reached 10,000 teens statewide).
- 5. Describe any public/private resources used to implement the program (e.g., services, materials and/or funds raised or donated).
- 6. Describe how volunteers were used in the program (e.g., 100 fire and rescue personnel volunteered to inspect child safety seats).
- 7. Submit the <u>original</u> and <u>three copies</u> of the completed nomination form and supporting documentation. Please do not send video tapes, CDs/diskettes or photographs.

Award Categories and 2010 Award Winners

Lifetime Safety Achievement

Presented for lifetime achievement in the area of transportation safety. Awarded to Wayne S. Ferguson (Retired), Virginia Transportation Safety Research Council.

W. Calvin Falwell/Major Kenneth Rowe Award for Aviation Safety

Presented for promoting air safety. Awarded to John Mazza, Jr., Member of the Capital Region Airport Commission – Richmond International Airport.

Employer Safety

Presented for employers who take the extra initiative to promote traffic safety and encourage their employees to practice safe driving behaviors. Awarded to Kevin Jones and Bee Line Towing, Lynchburg, VA.

General Traffic Safety

Presented for outstanding efforts in educating citizens and changing attitudes and behaviors regarding transportation safety. Individuals/organizations demonstrating exemplary achievement in the design, development and/or implementation of engineering techniques that reduce crashes on Virginia's highways will also be considered for this award. Awarded to Ashland Police Department, Ashland, VA.

Impaired Driving

Presented for encouraging the prevention of drunk and/or drugged driving. Awarded to SafeRides at James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA.

Law Enforcement

Presented to law enforcement personnel taking extra initiative to promote and encourage safety in their community. Awarded to Master Police Officer Mike R. Gangloff, Harrisonburg, VA.

Legal

Presented to attorneys or judges who actively support safety issues thus strengthening existing laws and creating new laws. No 2010 nominations.

Media

Presented to media representatives or a news outlet helping to spread the word about traffic safety through fair and accurate reporting or programming. No 2010 nominations.

Edgar P. Layman, Jr. Award for Motor Carrier Safety

Presented for contributions in furthering the safety of the motor carrier industry through educational programs and activities. Awarded to Eugene D. Gibson, Smithfield, VA.

Motorcycle Safety

Presented for persons educating motorists and motorcyclists about motorcycle safety. Awarded to New Kent County Sheriff's Office and Blue Knights Chapter VIII, New Kent, VA.

Occupant Protection

Presented for promoting and encouraging the use of safety belts and/or child safety seats through creative and innovative programs and activities. Awarded to Bedford Police Department, Bedford, VA.

E. Wallace Timmons Award for Pedestrian/Bicycle Safety

Presented for encouraging safe walking and bicycling. Awarded to Town of Richlands, Department of Police, Richlands, VA.

Public Transportation Safety

Presented for contributions made in educating drivers and riders about safety on public transportation. Blacksburg Transit, Blacksburg, VA.

Pupil Transportation Safety

Presented for encouraging, educating and promoting safety in pupil transportation thus improving safety for drivers and riders. Awarded to Newport News Police Department – Special Operations Division, Newport News, VA.

Rail Safety

Presented for promoting safety on freight and/or passenger rail systems. Sergeant Kathryn Allen – Liberty University Police Department, Lynchburg, VA.

Water Safety

Presented for contributions made in improving safety for swimmers, boaters and fishermen. Awarded to Mr. William Whitlock and Ms. Donna Cook, volunteers for Virginia Game & Inland Fisheries.

Youth Traffic Safety

Presented for persons or programs educating youth and spreading the message on the importance of youth traffic safety. Awarded to New River Valley Driving School, Inc., Christiansburg, VA.

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 2011 Governor's Transportation Safety Awards

NOMINATION FORM

AWARD CATEGORY			
PERSON(S)/ORGANIZATION(S) NOMINATED			
STREET/MAILING ADDRESS			
СІТҮ	STATE	ZIP CODE	

SUBMITTED BY:

YOUR NAME			
ORGANIZATION			
STREET/MAILING ADDRESS			
СІТҮ	STATE	ZIP CODE	
TELEPHONE NUMBER	EMAIL ADDRESS		



Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Governor's Transportation Safety Awards c/o Audrey Odum, Room 617 Post Office Box 27412 Richmond, Virginia 23269-0001