

VIRGINIA ASSOCIATION OF CHIEFS OF POLICE

1606 Santa Rosa Road, Suite 134 Richmond, Virginia 23288 Phone: 804-285-8227

Fax: 804-285-3363 www.vachiefs.org

Contacts:

Ms. Dana Schrad, Executive Director Mobile: (804) 338-9512; dana@vachiefs.org Ms. Erin Schrad, Communications Manager Mobile: (804) 512-5162; erin@vachiefs.org

2014 Virginia Law Enforcement Challenge Awards Announced For Best Traffic Safety Programs in Virginia in 2013

The Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police (VACP) is pleased to announce the recipients of the Virginia Law Enforcement Challenge awards for the best traffic safety programs in the state in 2013. The awards luncheon took place during the VACP's 89th Annual Training Conference on Tuesday, September 9 at the Hotel Roanoke in Roanoke, VA.

Celebrating its twenty-fifth year in Virginia, the Law Enforcement Challenge program promotes professionalism in traffic safety enforcement and encourages agencies to share best practices and programs with each other. The awards are based on entries prepared by the participating agencies that highlight their traffic safety education and enforcement activities in the past calendar year. Judges award points to the agencies in the six areas that comprise a comprehensive traffic safety program: problem identification, policies, planning, training of officers, public information and education, enforcement, and an evaluation of the outcomes of the agency's efforts.



The Virginia Challenge is held in cooperation with the National Law Enforcement Challenge Awards, which are presented by the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP). This year, thirty-five Virginia agencies entered the competition, of which eight were selected to receive national awards. National Challenge award winners have been announced by the IACP on their web site at http://www.theiacp.org/NLEC. National awards will be presented in October at the International Association of Chiefs of Police Annual Conference in Orlando, FL.

The Virginia agencies listed below will be presented with their state Challenge first, second and third place awards in each category at the luncheon, as well as special awards for outstanding enforcement and education efforts in the areas of occupant protection, impaired driving, speed awareness, commercial motor vehicle safety, distracted driving, technology, bicycle/pedestrian safety, and motorcycle safety. Additionally, the VACP will present an award for the most outstanding traffic safety program in Virginia in 2013, regardless of agency size or type — the "Commonwealth Award". The 2014 recipient of the Commonwealth Award is the Roanoke County Police Department.

The Virginia Law Enforcement Challenge Awards program is supported by a grant from the Virginia Highway Safety Office. Additional information about the Law Enforcement Challenge program can be found online at http://www.smartsafeandsober.org/programs/LEC.

The Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police is a statewide organization of federal, state and local police chiefs and law enforcement executives dedicated to improving the professionalism of police agencies in Virginia. The Association was founded in 1926 and has more than 600 members. For more information, visit http://www.vachiefs.org.

The winners of the 2014 Virginia Law Enforcement Challenge are as follows:

Municipal 1: 1-10 Officers	Place	
Saltville Police Department	1	
West Point Police Department	2	
Municipal 2: 11-25 Officers	Place	
Ashland Police Department IACP National Challenge Winner: 3 rd place, Municipal 1 (1-25 Officers)	1	
Bedford Police Department	2	
Purcellville Police Department	3	
Municipal 3: 26-50 Officers	Place	
Culpeper Police Department	1	
Radford City Police Department	2	
Colonial Heights Police Department	3	
Municipal 4: 51-75 Officers	Place	
Herndon Police Department	1	
Salem Police Department	2	
Municipal 5: 76-125 Officers	Place	
James City County Police Department	1	
Leesburg Police Department	2	
Harrisonburg Police Department	3	
Municipal 6: 126-300 Officers	Place	
Roanoke County Police Department IACP National Challenge Winner: 1 st place, Municipal 3 (76-250 Officers)	1	
Roanoke Police Department IACP National Challenge Winner: 2 nd place, Municipal 3 (76-250 Officers)	2	
Portsmouth Police Department	3 (tie)	
Albemarle County Police Department	3 (tie)	
Municipal 7: 301-450 Officers	Place	
Chesapeake Police Department	1	
Newport News Police Department	2	
Municipal 8: 451-700 Officers	Place	
Henrico County Division of Police IACP National Challenge Winner: 1 st place, Municipal 4 (251+ Officers)	1	
Municipal 9: 701+ Officers	Place	
Fairfax County Police Department	1	
Virginia Beach Police Department	2	

UNIVERSITY POLICE	Place
Virginia Commonwealth University Police Department IACP National Challenge Winner: 1 st place, College – University Law Enforcement	1
University of Richmond Police Department	2

VACP News Release – 2014 Law Enforcement Challenge Awards (8/09/2014)

Sheriff 1: 1-25 Deputies	Place
New Kent County Sheriff's Office IACP National Challenge Winner: 3 rd place, Sheriff 1 (1-50 Deputies) & Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Special Award (Municipal/Sheriff)	1
Westmoreland County Sheriff's Office IACP National Challenge Winner: 1 st place, Sheriff 1 (1-50 Deputies) & National Sheriffs' Association Top Traffic Safety Unit Award	2
Sheriff 2: 26-50 Deputies	Place
Amherst County Sheriff's Office	1
Wythe County Sheriff's Office	
Isle of Wight County Sheriff's Office	
Sheriff 3: 51-75 Deputies	Place
Gloucester County Sheriff's Office	
Sheriff 4: 76-125 Deputies	Place
Fauquier County Sheriff's Office	1
Washington County Sheriff's Office	
Sheriff 5: 126-300 Deputies	Place
Stafford County Sheriff's Office IACP National Challenge Winner: 3 rd place, Sheriff 2 (51-250 Deputies)	1
Hanover County Sheriff's Office	2

SPECIAL AWARDS	
Occupant Protection Award	n/a
Impaired Driving Award	Westmoreland County Sheriff's Office
Speed Awareness Award	Albemarle County Police Department
Technology Award	Roanoke Police Department
Bicycle/Pedestrian Safety Award	Virginia Beach Police Department
Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Award	Fairfax County Police Department
Distracted Driving Award	New Kent County Sheriff's Office
Motorcycle Safety Award	Harrisonburg Police Department
Commonwealth Award	Roanoke County Police Department